
So it's Christmas Eve. I comfortably sit in my room while Mom furiously cleans today so that she can relax tomorrow with the family. I hate the American Christmas only because there's too much pressure for it to be that "it's a wonderful life" type of Christmas. Why can't we just sit in the living room with a nice cup of coffee and talk for hours with the extended family? Oh well. I do enjoy it when all is said and done but sometimes I think it's too much.
Christmas Eve is usually my favorite. Grandma and Papa come with us to the Candlelight service then come over to do presents with us so that it's not so crazy tomorrow. And after they leave the family settles down to watch White Christmas. Haha sister and I will go all year singing the "Sister" song from it to each other, and of course Micah always falls asleep. Bless his heart.
This year the holiday really snuck up on us all. I guess it's cause I've been so busy this year I haven't had time to realize it's Christmas.
Two weeks ago I went with the youth to buy food and Christmas for families that are having it rough this year. It was such a blessing. The Thompson's. We got to meet 5 of the 7 kids. I'm still talking to one of the girls who is about my age.
Regardless of the holiday season or not it made me realize how much I miss just getting to know people. And loving them.

No comments:
Post a Comment